a real life grown-up

10 Jan

While I’m certain that wardrobe alone does not qualify a person as a grown-up, I’m feeling decidedly more mature having purchased my first suit yesterday. It’s a nice little gray number and I do feel oh so professional, albeit a little boring, in her.

As you can imagine, the next thing on my list is shoes! Grown-up shoes! Currently, my only closed-toe options are of the patent, 4″, and glittery variety, which is more than fine with me but may make for less-than-stellar first impressions in the workplace.

Here are some office-friendly options that I’m considering:

 

Grown-up Polka Dots

Red-soled Pretties

 

An Exotic Twist on the Classic

 

Please share your tips for a fabulous work wardrobe!

6 Responses to “a real life grown-up”

  1. Lindsay Souza January 10, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

    I have a pair of Louboutins similar to the pair you have shown and wear them to the office all the time. Timeless well made! xo

    • Tasty Fare, Pretty Wear January 10, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

      I’m green with envy! I hope to splurge on a pair soon – they sure are gorgeous!

  2. vmacandcheese January 10, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    Ahhh I remember my first suit as well. It’s a good feeling, no? I like to zhush up suits with silk scarves tied on my handbag. And I say that if you think your suit is a little plain, go wild on the shoes!

    • Tasty Fare, Pretty Wear January 10, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

      I have to agree! There is a fabulous lady CEO at a bank in Memphis who always has the most perfect and bold Louboutins! I want to be her.

  3. domestikatedlife January 10, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    You are reading my mind — I came to the realization this week while getting ready for a funeral that I don’t own any “practical” shoes… aka no heels that aren’t leopard or sparkly or patent leather… I’m on the hunt!

  4. audrey marie January 11, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    i like the last pair best! the texture gives them a little edge but still definitely office appropriate!

    ps – come check out my second outfit post 🙂

Leave a Reply

