Send in the troops

3 Feb

I need your help with a v. v. serious matter. I can’t for the life of me settle on a dress to wear to my boyfriend’s formal. The event is the 19th…in New Jersey…so I will probably die of hypothermia after a night of prancing around in heels and a tiny dress. BUT you know I have to look good for my man (but mostly for the other girls, duh), so here are your options:

 

 

Not slutty but still says “my legs are nicer than yours.” Right?

 

This would be the same dress, but in red. Obv.

 

Sophisticated, but still reminds me of lingerie. But not too, too much.

 

Love a good surprise back.

 

“I still have really nice legs” but I’m going to need some more Tracy Anderson before my arms look like this girl’s toothpicks.

 

Soft and romantic. Very Charlotte York of me – a good thing since bf’s dreamgirl is Char.

 

Woah, Charlotte, you have a wild side!

 

So, which would you choose?! All dresses are from Rent the Runway (which is fab, if you haven’t tried it!) so I need to order ASAP – one dress that I had my eye on is already unavailable.

6 Responses to “Send in the troops”

  1. domestikatedlife February 3, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    I looove the last black one — and it has little cap sleeves so maybe you’ll be a little more warm??

    I haven’t tried RTR yet! I’m scared… have you had a good experience?

    • Tasty Fare, Pretty Wear February 3, 2011 at 10:23 am #

      I have used it once before and had an excellent experience! I ordered a Tibi dress and they let you choose a second size for free if it’s your first time to rent that designer. Then, I added a “backup dress” for $25 – which worked great because I was attending 2 formal events in one weekend! It really is a great alternative if you’re like me and have a closet full of one-hit wonders….

  2. vmacandcheese February 3, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    Ohhhh formals. I’ve been there. The key is to pick a dress that you’re both comfortable in and is unique/different from what all the other girls are wearing. I actually think all the ones you’ve chosen are fantastic, but I gotta say, I also really love the last black one with the cap sleeves. It’s classy, but still sexy, and I think it’ll be different from all the silk/satin/halter numbers people will inevitably wear…don’t you think? Plus, if you just threw on a long coat over it (even a trench) it would look awesome!

    • Tasty Fare, Pretty Wear February 3, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

      An added bonus is that reviews for the dress online mention it having a kind of sweatshirt lining…very tempting!!

  3. amy b.s. February 3, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    i’m sort of loving the sophisticated “lingerie” dress. it looks so classy with the lace, but is so fun with the back!

  4. natasha February 4, 2011 at 1:45 am #

    I wanted to let you know that I passed along the “Stylish Blogger Award” to you tonight! I want to thank you for the support you’ve shown me and let you know that I am truly inspired by your beautiful blog!

Leave a Reply

